My sister’s smile could light the darkest room. The spirit and energy that was her made me stand in awe some days of how she so freely laughed when I could barely crack a smile in the presence of others. Every morning God’s mercies are new and that is how she would start her day. A clean slate. A full plate. Every evening she laid her head down, exhausted but always aware that she truly lived the day.
I think of her today as I gaze at old photos. Same bright eyes, same delighted grin, same force of life ready to burst from the frame. In awe I still stand at just how grateful I am to have had such a precious gift and today’s gentle reminder that life is in the here and now. Tomorrow’s worries, Yesterday’s anxieties, tonight’s uncertainties all seem to fade. I laugh freely. I smile into the dark.

